Never Say Good Bye

 

12-30-2014

Due to Privacy I have chosen to leave some names out:

Saying Good-bye to late:

In my recent post, I referrenced about Never Say Good Bye, Always See You Later, well that didn’t happen this time. Recently our neighborhood had lost a mainstay. My time with 
Here is how I meet  the first Lady I know that lived to 100 years,
I was at her neighbors’ house one day painting his garage doors, that day I had spent a few hours there and had began to tell me about his neighbor, that she had just had  her 100th birthday, within that last couple of weeks. How he and his wife keep watch an eye on her, having been alone since her husbands passing, in the early 2000’s. He proceded to explain how they had never had children, all she had left was her nephew who goes shopping for her and neice takes her for her appointments.
I recieved a call from him the next day stating 
that his neighbor had seen me out painting his garage and would like to hire me to do some painting for her giving me her phone number, so I called her and explained who I was and almost immediatly, she continues to tell me what she wants done. So I  tell her that I am on my way up to find out what exactly needs to be done. She says “Do you want me to open the garage door, I will be waiting at the door, I am thinking to myself she is fiesty to site there that time of the day door unlocked, and alone.”
My reply was not right now, I will call you when I get closer, As I got close enough to where I could see the front door and the garage at the same time, worried about safety.  As I got closer to the garage where I could see better, I seen this very short lady sitting on a walker. Walking into the garage I introduced myself to her and she bluntly says with a stare that made the hair on the back of my neck stand on end, that didn’t talk long, trying to explain that I only lived about a half mile from her she says (this is what I want done).
How many of you (are/were about to hire to do some work for you wouldn’t) want to know more about that person, before you hired him/her. 

 That wasn’t the case with myself, and probably many others.  (Thanks to her neighbor don’t know what you told her but it must have been something nice enough for this Lady to trust me as much as she did, (just keep it to yourself we don’t want it getting out.)

Now as I had ended work for that day we sat in the living room drinking cold coffee and water, tring to figure out what was the next day to finish, she was say well I can’t due Saturday because I have a doctors appointment, and I thought to myself, wait her appointments are on Saturday, I have never heard of that. So I said I could return the following Monday in the afternoon (not really wanting to wait that long) “she replied “thats fine I stay up until around 12 -1 am and gets back up at 5 am to get my house work done” now I am thinking where is she getting all this spunk from, I very seldom catch her taking a nap during the day. When I returned on Monday I called  saying “Hello Sweetie”  and like before she opened the garage door, Now this happened from then on, using one or other door always being greeted  with a smile. We sat for a little while and talked and she began to tell me a little more, about how she had seen me painting her neighbors garage and that she had two other people who had said they would do it but never returned to do the job.
So I told her that I would do the painting she wanted done, she said she would buy the supplies, asking how much I would charge. I told her we would discuss that after the job was done. It took a few days not only was the first area needed a good painting but also I found she had some great history that I could learn from. On this day  That’s when she told me that she had been homebound since her husband  had passed away in 2003, only being able to go out for her appointments. She proceded to tell me that the agency that helps those of her age with handicap ramps would have to pay between $500.00 and $1000.00  what they didn’t tell her was, that was to attach it to the outside of her home not in her garage and that she told them she could afford, it being on a strict income. When she told me that they wouldn’t stop calling and told her that she had to go through them, I told her to tell them if they didn’t her son was going to get on the phone if  I was there, Don’t know if she ever had to.  Now making two handicap ramps within the last 2 years, I looked at her and said I could make a ramp for you, as I said this I told her if it was  fixed to the outside we have to get a builders permit which would cost more and she would have to go by city code which meant a different design or it would have to be put in storage when not in use, after looking out the garage door I said thewe could put one right here and not worry about all the red tape.  The next day, I got started on that project.  I said my son would like to know if she knew anything about the slave days just incase he had history project on this subject, could he ask her about her experience with it. She told me that she would have a paper for me to give him.  Again taking my time, but wanting to make sure that she was safe, and always ending the night with another history lesson, also getting the paper she had wrote for my son.

The day after I went back up to her’ house to finish up and I asked her if she wanted to test it out so after getting her out side she had a great time in the sun and a cool breeze she asked to be left in that spot, have to go somewhere real quick, she says you can leave me here, and I  say that’s not going to happen your niece and nephew will kill me, So happy but sad because she was out but had to go back in to soon. There was another day I had found a map of the of the United States, asking her she told me that she made it as she traveled across the U.S. after she
Soon I had all the work was until summer  of 2015 and visits continued but not as much it was mostly phone calls were more frequent, calling to see how she was.
I had visited her a few other times at home my last being on Thanksgiving Day when I brought her some dinner, turkey the works four or five different desserts bringing a total of about five different storage bowls of different sizes with a reply (OH Thank You) this will last me a week.  until I found out through others that she was in the rehabilitation home due to a  recent fall and chipped a bone in leg. After finding this out I called her neighbor to inform him. So then I visited her at the home three times the most memorable time was on Christmas day, Again I had packaged up a little Christmas Dinner. Only finding out that she was going out with her family for Christmas, Now this made me happy because she was able to get out for Christmas. So the food I brought over was put in fridge for her, (not enough to last a week, the nurses wouldn’t like that).
I stayed there visiting until her neice showed up and I had left in a  hurry not to waste time, so they could get her coat on, to began there Christmas Holiday, Forgetting to say “See you Later”  That was the last day I had a chance to visit with her.

(So Please remember to say “See You Later” because it could be the last time you see them.)

 

 

 

chris
(So Please in closing forgive all who have done you wrong, cherish what you have, love everyone, and live life to the fullest) !
W
hich is something Mollie did and passed a legacy on for all who knew her.

2 thoughts on “Never Say Good Bye

  1. balding2soon Post author

    That she was as I said just the few months I had know her she encouraged me with haveing the trust in such a short time I talked to for about five minutes and ten minutes later I was working for her with no other questions asked. That takes alot of courage and trust.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

